Accepting Things as They Are

When I was in the 4th grade my home life was tumultuous. My mom had started dating someone of low quality. He was a man short in stature and had an even shorter temper. One particular evening I had gotten a drink of some pop (or soda for those of you not from the Midwest!) that he had left at my house. This gent flipped his lid when he found out. He became so enraged he threw the half filled 2- liter at my head!

My mom stepped in and told him to leave. This man, however, was not the type that liked to be told what to do. He stayed and a fight ensued between he and my mom. As the fighting grew in intensity some neighbors heard it and called the cops. I remember hiding under the dining room table the whole time while things played out.

The cops decided that I should go spend some time with my dad, which I was happy about. I’m not exactly sure where my mom went, but the guy ended up in the back of a cop car.

After a peaceful night sleep at my dad’s house, the next morning he took me to school. Around lunchtime my mother showed up at the school demanding to see her daughter. I was promptly called to the office and was told I would be going home right then with my mom. I begged and pleaded with them to not make me go. I told them my dad was going to pick me up and I wasn’t supposed to go with her. I really wanted to go back to my dad’s house.

The administrators wouldn’t hear of it though. They told me to stop lying about my mom because she was a good woman. I left that day defeated and in tears. I felt like no one was listening to what I had to say.

I have often wondered if things would have been different had someone listened to me that day. Would I have gone back to my dad’s? Would I have been able to live with my dad permanently? Would I have been able to have a more stable and peaceful life? I’m sure if that would have happened a lot of things would have changed, but maybe that’s not what was meant for my life. I know I can’t change the things now; it is still hard to accept sometimes how things were. Sometimes in life we just need someone to listen to us, and to really hear what we have to say.

I try to be the kind of person now that offers a listening ear for others. Kids especially need someone to be their advocate and to be in their corner. I know that my Heavenly Father was always there for me, looking out for me and protecting me. This gives me peace and comfort because I know He has used these hard times I went through to increase my understanding and compassion towards others. Even though it was not easy to bear at the time I am grateful for where I am today.

Leave a Reply

