Feelings of Gratitude

The month of November is almost over, and I wanted to share a few thoughts of things I am grateful for this year. The past 4-5 years have been a whirlwind of trials and heartaches, some days I didn’t know how I would survive. It is hard to believe how far I have come, or been brought, after all that I have had to go through. As I look back on those difficult days I feel like I was prepared for them from the beginning of my life (not that I would ever want to relive any of that again!).

I am grateful that I have a loving Heavenly Father that has given me this life. I am thankful for the wonderful people that have been His hands and have helped me when I needed it most. There are many people in my life that have been an answer to prayers, whether they knew it or not. This includes my family and some really amazing friends. I am so thankful for my wonderful husband and the love I have found in him. I am grateful for my amazing kids and their tenacity after all that they have been asked to endure in their young lives. My extended family, which includes people that have become adopted family, is made up of some loving people.

This list can go on and on… to include sweet friends, this free country I call home, the church I am a part of, and the good health my family and I enjoy. During the dark days it can be hard to remember all these things which we have to be grateful for, but it is important to remember these things. The dark days come and go, an in the end we are left with scars from those trials, but they shape us to who we are as individuals. They afford us the chance to see what we are made of and how to have empathy and compassion for others. So I am even thankful for the hardships I have had to endure.

Leave a Reply

