When You Hear A Song

Music has the power to take us back in time, to calm us, to empower us, or to energize us. I love to listen to music, and I like to listen to all different types of music. Some members of my family grow irritated when I listen to the same songs over and over again, but it feels like the song just longs to be listened to by me ears!

One song in particular holds a very dear place in my heart, Mercy by One Republic. During 2013 I went through the most difficult year of my life. I don’t remember most of it because my brain has blocked a lot of it out. I do know there are many days that I have no idea how I made it through. I don’t know how I cared for the kids when I felt like I was on auto pilot. I somehow managed to make meals for the children, and care for them (they are still alive!), but I don’t remember the details of those many days.

Music helped get me through some really tough days, and it helped keep me from a total breakdown at times as well. The song I mentioned earlier was one of those songs. IT was like they wrote a song that encompassed how I was feeling. Those time when I could barley get out of bed, yet I truly felt like an angel of mercy was there to pick me up and help me. I still can’t think about it without getting teary because of how special that was to me. I felt like I was being cared for at my lowest point, and this song helped me remember how it was I was able to get through those difficult days. I am grateful for good music and the effect it has on our lives. I have included the song for your enjoyment.

Song

Leave a Reply

