When I Was 10…

Oh to go back to the days of simplicity! No bills to pay, no responsibilities, and minimal worries. When I was 10 I wanted to be a singer, and boy was I determined! I would sing for each and every person that would listen. I idolized Mariah Carey, and I would sing along to every song of hers! The guys my mom dated would indulge me and let me sing songs for them… I’m sure that was fun for them (HA!) Back then I figured if I didn’t make it as a singer (which I was pretty sure I was going to be) I had a back up plan–I would be a model. Anything that would get me in the spotlight and make me famous was my plan.

I am not sure why I was so determined to be famous back then. Maybe the glitz and glamour of those that were famous appealed to me. Maybe I thought it would be an easy out. Or perhaps it was because I thought if I was famous I wouldn’t have to be poor. Who knows the motivations or thoughts of 10 year old me! It is fun to think of those dreams and aspirations of then compared to the now.

As an adult I would NEVER want to be famous (rich yes but not famous). Living with fame or popularity does not appeal to me now. I have 6 little people that are constantly surrounding me and vying for my attention, I couldn’t handle thousands of people. I am happy to live a life out of the public eye. I still love to sing, I just do so at church now! I am thankful that 10 year old me didn’t get the chance to make all the plans for adult me! I suppose that’s the thing about growing up, you learn so much and you see things from a different perspective.

Leave a Reply

