Differing Points of View

Isn’t it funny how we can go through an experience (the same as others), but our view of things can be totally different?! I always find that interesting, and I love to hear others perspectives.

My older brother went into the Army straight out of high school. He was there during the Gulf War. During that time I was young, we are talking 5 or 6 years-old, but I remember some things. The few things I remember are first and foremost my mom crying- A LOT! I remember being scared because WAR is a big word. I remember worrying that I would never see my brother again, when I felt like I didn’t know him at all.

As an adult I understand things a lot better, and more differently, than I did as a child. War is still a scary word, but it seems to surround us constantly. I am thankful my brother was kept safe and made it home alive. I have been able to know my brother, and develop a close relationship with him.

Now, as I look at that time, I’m thankful I didn’t have as many worries as I’m sure the adults did at the time. I do wish I could have had a little more understanding of what was going on. I’m sure those who are older than I am remember that time differently and that’s how life works. I would love to sit down and hear others perspective of this time in our history.

Leave a Reply

