A Little Advice

A Piece of Advice

“I believe the family to be the basic and most important unit of society.

The greatest joys of life are experienced in happy family relationships. The most poignant of sorrows, the most bleak and forlorn feelings of misery come of unhappy family life.” -Gordon B. Hinckley (August, 1992)

As I was growing up my home life made it as such that there was not much stability living with my mom. It caused a lot of stress, and I wondered what life would have been like to live in a stable home with two parents, siblings running around, and a feeling of security surrounding me. When I became a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints I felt like I belonged and I was where I was meant to be. One of the most important pieces of advice that I received was how important the family unit is to our society.

In my humble opinion I truly believe with my whole heart that so many problems in society could be better if there were more stable family homes in our society. Now I am not so dense to think that all of our problems in this day and age are due to instability in the home life, I just feel that a lot of problems could be eased if children were growing up in a stable home. How much more at ease would we feel ourselves if we knew that at the end of the day, and no matter what craziness is going on in the world around us, we were going to go home to a loving family?

As this advice from Gordon B. Hinckley states, bleak and forlorn feelings come from an unhappy family life. I don’t feel that having family at home will fix all problems, but it sure helps to have a family. I know for me personally I love going home to my husband and kids and knowing that they love me regardless of how things are going. It brings me such comfort, and a sense of belonging in a world that seems to be in constant turmoil. This is not to say that my life has always been hunky-dory, I have been through a long divorce and have felt the pain and loneliness that accompanies such an event.

Having said this I do believe that the greatest joys truly do come from happy family life, and I am thankful to have a family. Even through the good and the bad times family is what matters most in this life.

Leave a Reply

