Losing Loved Ones

Loss, such a big word with for so few letters. I am sure many of us have lost someone near and dear to us. It hurts and there is no way to get away from it. When we lose someone we love there isn’t a way for them to be replaced, we have to just learn how to live without them in our lives. I think the hardest part of it, at least for me, is that they aren’t there. When someone we love dies we are just left with a void where they use to be.

A few years ago, 3 to be exact, my dear Aunt passed away. She was like a mother to me and I loved talking to her. I knew I could call her whenever I needed someone to talk to, and I could trust her advice. My Aunt knew me my whole life, she knew how I grew up, and the obstacles I had to overcome. I sincerely looked up to her, and always felt so much love from her. It broke my heart when she died.

As the years have gone on the loss has been easier to handle. I still miss her like crazy, and I have wished on numerous occasions that I could call her up and talk to her again. I have no doubts that she is doing well where she is, and I feel certain I will see her again. It doesn’t mean that I don’t wish she were here for me now though. I wish she would have been able to meet my little girl, and I wish she could see how well my boys are growing up. I believe she knows though, and that gives me comfort.

Losing someone we love is never easy. Whether it happens suddenly, or we know  it may be forthcoming, it is never easy. I know in my own life, that while the void my Aunt left can’t be filled, I have been blessed to have people step in to help. After the loss of my Aunt I saw many tender mercies that helped carry me through those difficult days. While the pain wasn’t taken away, I at least felt loved and like I wasn’t alone.

Leave a Reply

