Joy in the Journey

I was driving home recently and I had a thought, well more of an analogy, so bear with me! I was thinking how interesting it is that not all lanes on the highway are created equal. We can all travel down the same road, but some lanes are more bumpy than others. Some of us grain and moan  about the conditions of the road, others zoom past in the fast lane giving no regard of what fellow travelers are facing. Others are stuck on the side of the road due to various reasons.

All sorts of people on these roads, just like in life. Some have it easier than others on this road of life. Certain people travel down really bumpy roads, some zoom by having no thought for what others are going through. Sadly, some in society are broken on the side lines, unsure of how to go on. There are some that change lanes and have experienced all lanes. 

While I know I don’t have all the answers, and believe you me I have asked why many times. I have felt stuck in the crummy lane for far too long. I have been reassured that “..all these things shall give thee experience, and shall be for thy good” (Doctrine & Covenants 122:7). I do wish sometimes things were clear and made more sense, I suppose that isn’t faith though. So here’s to enduring the rough patches, and finding joy in the journey of this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

