Dark Clouds in Life

Okay let’s get to it, but first I want to clarify a few things. First off I do not think I have lived the worst life, it was bad for me. Second, I know others have had it much worse than I. Lastly I only want to share more of my story to offer hope and healing for others. I would like others to know they aren’t alone in their pain and suffering. It’s also important to me that we share more of who we are and where we come from. It offers a chance to have more compassion and charity towards others.

My mom was an alcoholic from the time I was young, pretty much as far back as I can remember. When I was about 6 or 7 my mom broke her ankle-this started her love and addiction to pain killers. When you’re living with an addict and you’re  young you don’t know that A) this isn’t how everyone else lives and B) just how bad things are. About the time I turned 9 the D.A.R.E. program came to my school. I started to figure out that maybe not all other kids lived similarly  to me. Not all kids had their birthday parties ruined by an intoxicated mother. Not all kids were woken up on Saturday mornings to clean up after their parents night of partying from the previous day. While these experiences were difficult to endure, they really did make me stronger. A lot of life is learning to move onward and upward despite difficulties. Have you found this to be true in your own life?

Leave a Reply

